Skip to main content

Festival Guests

Лоурэнс МакKёун
Laurence McKeown

Laurence McKeown is an Irish author, playwright, screenwriter, and former volunteer in the Provisional Irish Republican Army (PIRA) who took part in the 1981 Irish hunger strike.

When aged 17 he joined the IRA, and was arrested in 1976 and charged with causing explosions and the attempted murder of a member of the Royal Ulster Constabulary. At his trial McKeown was found guilty and sentenced to life imprisonment in the Maze Prison.
 
While in prison McKeown took part in the blanket and dirty protests attempting to secure the return of Special Category Status for convicted paramilitary prisoners. In 1980-1981 the protest escalated and a series of hunger strikes began. McKeown joined the strike. The first strike ended before any prisoners had died and without political status being secured. After four participants of the second hunger strike had died, McKeown joined it. Following the deaths of six other prisoners, McKeown's family authorised medical intervention to save his life on the 70th day of his hunger strike.
 
McKeown completed a bachelor's degree in social science from the Open University while in prison. He was pardoned and released in 1992. After being released, McKeown obtained PhD in Sociology from Queen's University Belfast. In the mid-90s he co-founded the Belfast Film Festival, and has written two books about Irish republican prisoners in the Maze Prison; Nor Meekly Serve My Time: The H-Block Struggle 1976–1981 (co-written with Brian Campbell and Felim O'Hagan, 1994) and Out Of Time: Irish Republican Prisoners, Long Kesh, 1972–2000 (2001).

McKeown and Brian Campbell co-wrote two plays together, The Laughter of Our (2001), and A Cold House (2003), as well as a film about the 1981 hunger strike called H3 (2001).

McKeown works as a Development Officer for Coiste na n-Iarchimí, an umbrella organisation of republican ex-prisoners groups, and writes and directs plays addressing the Troubles.

 

Рэнэ Хэйзкамп
Rene Hazekamp

Rene received education at the RITCS - School of Arts of the Erasmus University College in Brussels. Rene has been shooting short dance films since 1988 for his own film company Cendrillon. He was licensed by VPRO's Lola da Musica to make seven music documentaries. Recently Rene mostly has been shooting documentaries about people who live close to him. Rene Hazekamp lives and works in Rotterdam.
During our meeting at Watch Docs Belarus human rights film festival we are going to dive deeper into contradictory issues related to refugees and to immigration policies in Belarus and abroad.

On Rene's  personal website there's a section 'about myself' where he wrote: 'I have no clue whatsoever.' Let's explore who he really is and why he shot his amazing documentary 'Gangway to Future' which we are so glad to show you this winter.

Rene's most recent works:  De onplaatsbaren/The Unplaceables (2012, doc), CircusTime (2013, doc), The Anti-Noah (2016, short doc), Gangway to a Future (2018, doc).

 

Віктар Корзун
Viktar Korzoun

Film director, documentary screenwriter, artist, designer, publisher. Graduated from BSAA, Directing Department. Chairman of the Association of Belarusian Creators "VIVA FUTURA" (Minsk, Belarus - Vilnius, Lithuania); founder and participant of Belarusian Radio “Baltic Waves” (Vilnius, Lithuania). Awarded for the best film in Polish competition of Szczecin European Film Festival 2015 (Poland).

Filmography:

2018 - “The trial of communism. Beginning"

2015 - "Amerikanka. All included"

2011 - "Vladimir Korotkevich: When I die - the soul will remain ..."

2014 - “The Age of Baradulin”

2008 - Siarzhuk Vitushka: “We have discovered Belarus for ourselves”

2008 - “Carry me, Autumn!” - Bards in Bielsk

2007 - “Trust in the wind only, Chernobyl, 20 years after”

2007 - “Belarusian Front, or conversations about the language”

2004 - “Vasil Bykau. Return"

 

Liubou Ziamtsova
Liubou Ziamtsova

Liubou Ziamtsova - director, documentary filmmaker. Born in Minsk in the family of television editor and screenwriter Sviatlana Ziamtsova. At the age of 17 she shot her first experimental work “The Cage” in Children's Center for Technical Creativity with support from her teacher G. Zlobenka. In 2014 she graduated from Belarusian State Academy of Arts (Documentary direction, workshop of M. Zhdanousky). She studied in Warsaw at Andrzej Wajda School on the course of Marcel Lozinsky.

Filmography:

2013 - "About Love: Ira"

2018 - "Upbringing of Artem"

2019 - “Place of love"

 

Галина Адамович
Galina Adamovich

Galina Adamovich was born in Minsk. In 1994 she graduated from Belarusian Academy of Arts with a degree in documentary filmmaking. In the same year, she began working at the Belarusfilm National Film Studio and various Belarusian television channels. Member of the Belarusian Union of Cinematographers. A many-times participant, prize-winner and jury member of international film festivals. The film presented at the festival: “Good girls are not getting beaten” (52 minutes, video, studio “Letapis” of National Film Studio Belarusfilm, 2019).

Geography of festival victories of Galina Adamovich’s films:

2001 - "Once upon a time". Victories and prizes at film festivals in Romania, Slovakia, Egypt, Belarus, Russia.

2004 - "Oh my god". Victories and prizes at film festivals in the Czech Republic, Belarus, Italy, Russia (Chelyabinsk), Poland.

2005 - "Zavеdionka". Victories and prizes at film festivals in Iran, Poland (Krakow), Moldova, Armenia (Yerevan), Italy, Russia.

2007 - "Mom will come!". Victories and prizes at film festivals in Spain (Madrid), 3 prizes at “Zolotoy Vityaz” festival (Moscow).

           "Nun" (56 minutes, video, studio named after John the Warrior of Minsk St. Elisabeth Monastery). Victories and prizes at film festivals: Listapad (Minsk), Russia, Kiev, Georgia, Ukraine.

2015 - "Two Andreys". Victories and prizes at film festivals in Russia and Ukraine.

2017 - "Alien and own" Victories and prizes at film festivals in the cities of Russia and Azerbaijan (Baku).

2019 - "Vyado". Victories and prizes at film festivals in Khanty-Mansiysk, Samara, Orel, Sevastopol, Yekaterinburg.

 

Аляксандр Свішчанкоў
Aliaksandr Svishchankou

Aliaksandr Svishchankou - documentary filmmaker, producer, cameraman, editor. Born and currently lives in Minsk. Graduated from Belarusian State University of Informatics and Radioelectronics (Telecommunications), Film School-Studio of Andrey Polupanov (Film Production),  Belarusian State Academy of Arts (Film Direction). At the festival he will present his film "My Germany".

 

Андрэй Куціла
Andrei Kutsila

Born in 1983. Film director, screenwriter. Graduate of Belarusian State University and Belarusian Academy of Arts (class of Alexander Karpov). Member of the Film School by Union of Cinematographers from CIS and Baltic countries (workshop of Sergei Dvortsevskiy), IDFA Academy, Berlinale Talants and other educational projects. Written and directed a dozen documentaries, participant and winner of international film festivals.

Main awards:

2019 - "Strip and War" - Film Critic's Award – FIPRESCI at goEast – Festival of Central and Eastern European Film (Germany). Special Mention Award at DocsMX - International Documentary Film Festival of Mexico City (Mexico). Special Jury Award in the Main Documantary Film Competition at Minsk International Film Festival Listapad (Belarus)

2018 - "Summa" - IDFA Award for Best Mid-Length Documentary at International Documentary Film Festival Amsterdam (Netherlands). SILVER HOBBY-HORSE for the director of the best documentary film in national competition at Krakow Film Festival (Poland). GRAND PRIZE at Pärnu International Documentary and Anthropology Film Festival (Estonia). Best Documentary Film Award in National Competition at Minsk International Film Festival Listapad (Belarus). Prize of the Guild of Film Critics of the Belarusian Union of Filmmakers "Straw Bison" at Minsk International Film Festival Listapad (Belarus)

2017 - "King of the Hill". Grand Prix at International Festival of Local Televisions in Kosice (Slovakia). 

2015 - "Guests". Best documentary in National Competition at Minsk International Film Festival Listapad (Belarus)

2015 - “Where You Belong”. Bronze Castle Award at 19th International Film Festival OFF CINEMA (Poland). Special mention award for an excellent directing at Pärnu International Film Festival (Estonia). Grand Prix at International Festival of Local Televisions Golden Beggar (Slovakia)

2010 – “Kill the Day” (Днюка). Special Jury Prize at Minsk International Film Festival Listapad (Belarus). Award for the Best Non-Fictional Film from the Guild of Film Critics of the Belarusian Union of Filmmakers at Minsk International Film Festival Listapad (Belarus). Grand Prix at International Festival of Local Televisions Golden Beggar (Slovakia). Award fot the Best Documentary at International Independent Film Festival  Kinolev (Ukraine). Award for the Best Short Documentary at Documentary Film Festival TRANZYT  (Poland)

 

Ігар Чышчэня
Ihar Chyshchenia

Ihar Chyshchenia, a young documentary filmmaker. He has been working at "Belarusfilm" for 8 years, and during that time he has become the author of a number of powerful films. In 2017 he was even named "Culture Person of the Year" as a representative of film and video art.

Filmography:

2019 - "Places of memory. Iuye"

2017 - "Generation Play"

2017 - "The First Book"

2015 - "Counter of Happiness "

2014 - "Breath of Wetlands"

2014 - "Lost Song"

2013 - "Andrey Takindang. I stop in the middle"

2012 - "On the arena today, and forever"

 

jan_bluz
Jan Bluz

Jan Bluz - Polish director and journalist, currently based in Iceland. The Underground of Hope is his first feature documentary. Earlier he worked in major Polish media outlets as a journalist and mainly covered politics and economics. He graduated form the University of Wrocław (American studies).

 

Наш Facebook

Перейти к основному содержанию

Гости Фестиваля

Лоурэнс МакKёун
Лоуренс МакKёун

Лоуренс МакKёун (Laurence McKeown, род. 1956) - ирландский писатель, драматург, сценарист. Бывший доброволец Временной Ирландской республиканской армии.

В возрасте 17 лет он присоединился к ВИРА, в 1976 году был арестован и обвинен в совершении взрывов и покушении на убийство полицейского Королевской полиции Ольстера. В 1977 году МакКёун был приговорен к пожизненному заключению в тюрьме Мейз.

В тюрьме Л. МакКёун участвовал в «Одеяльном» и «Грязном» протестах и ирландской голодовке 1981 года – акциях протеста в рамках пятилетнего конфликта, возникшего из-за лишения заключенных участников вооруженных формирований особого статуса (special category status), что приравняло их к обычным преступникам.

Л. МакКёун присоединился к голодовке после того, как погибли четверо заключенных, и голодал 70 дней. После смерти еще шести заключенных его семья ради спасения его жизни разрешила медицинское вмешательство.

Находясь в тюрьме, Лоуренс МакКёун получил диплом бакалавра социальных наук Открытого университета. В 1992 году он был помилован и освобожден из тюрьмы. Уже после освобождения получил степень доктора социологии в Королевском университете в Белфасте. В середине 1990-х годов он стал сооснователем Белфастского кинофестиваля и написал две книги о заключенных членах ИРА в тюрьме Мейз: Nor Meekly Serve My Time: H-Block Struggle 1976-1981 (в соавторстве с Брайаном Кэмпбеллом и Фелимом О'Хаганом, 1994) и Out Of Time: Irish Republican Prisoners, Long Kesh, 1972–2000 (2001).

В соавторстве с Б. Кэмпбеллом им были написаны две пьесы: «Смех наших детей» (The Laughter of Our Children, 2001) и «Холодный дом» (A Cold House, 2003), а также сценарий вышедшего в 2001 году фильма «H-3» о голодовке 1981 года.

В настоящее время Лоуренс МакКёун работает специалистом по вопросам развития в общественной организации Coiste na n-Iarchimí, объединяющей бывших заключенных членов ИРА, а также пишет и ставит пьесы, посвященные осмыслению конфликта между Британией и Ирландией.

 

Рэнэ Хэйзкамп
Рене Хэйзкамп

Рене получил образование в RITCS - школе искусств Колледжа Эразмуса в Брюсселе. Рене снимает короткие танцевальные фильмы с 1988 года для своей собственной кинокомпании Cendrillon. Он был аккредитован для работы над передачей Lola da Musica и снял семь музыкальных документальных фильмов. Однако в последнее время Рене в основном снимает документальные фильмы о людях, которые находятся рядом с ним. Рене Хэйзкамп живет и работает в Роттердаме.

Во время нашей встречи на фестивале о правах человека Watch Docs Belarus мы будем разбираться в противоречивых вопросах, связанных с беженцами и иммиграционной политикой в ​​Беларуси и за рубежом.

На личном сайте Рене есть раздел «О себе», где он написал: «Я понятия не имею, кто я». Давайте вместе выясним, кто он такой на самом деле и почему он решил снять свой потрясающий документальный фильм «Трап в будущее», который мы очень рады показать вам этой зимой.

Самые последние документальные работы Рене: "Неустроенные" (2012), "Время Цирка" (2013), "Анти-Ноа" (2016, короткометражка), "Трап в Будущее" (2018).

 

Віктар Корзун
Виктор Корзун

Режиссер, сценарист документальных фильмов, художник, дизайнер, издатель. Окончил БГАИ - отделение режиссуры. Председатель Ассоциации Белорусских Творцов "VIVA FUTURA" (Минск, Беларусь - Вильнюс, Литва); основатель и участник Белорусского радио «Балтийские волны» (Вильнюс, Литва). Имеет награду за лучший фильм в польском конкурсе Щетинского Европейского кинофестиваля 2015. (Польша).

Фильмография:

2018г. - "Суд над коммунизмом. Начало"

2015г. - "Американка. All included"

2011г. - "Владимир Короткевич: Как умру - душа останется ..."

2014г. - "Эпоха Барадулина"

2008г. - Сергей Витушко: "Мы открыли для себя Беларусь"

2008г. - "Неси меня осень!" - Барды в Бельске

2007г. - "Верить только ветру, Чернобыль, 20 лет после"

2007г .- "Белорусский фронт, либо беседы о языке"

2004г. - "Василь Быков. Возвращение"

 

Liubou Ziamtsova
Любовь Земцова

Любовь Земцова - режиссер – документалист. Родилась в Минске в семье телевизионного редактора и сценариста Светланы Земцовой. В 17 лет на базе «Детского центра технического творчества», благодаря своему преподавателю Г. П.Злобенко, сняла первую экспериментальную работу «Клетка». В 2014 окончила Белорусскую государственную академию искусств (специальность: режиссура документального фильма, мастерская М.А. Ждановского). Училась в Варшаве в Школе Анджея Вайды на курсе Марцеля Лозинского.

Фильмография:

2013г. - "Про любовь: Ира"

2018г. - "Воспитание Артема"

2019г. - "Место любви"

 

Галина Адамович
Галина Адамович

Галина Адамович родилась в Минске. В 1994 закончила Белорусскую Академию искусств по специальности “режиссура документального кино”. С этого же года начала работать на Национальной киностудии ”Беларусьфильм”, различных белорусских телеканалах. Член Белорусского Союза кинематографистов. Неоднократный участник, призер и член жюри международных кинофестивалей. Фильм, представленный на фестивале: «Хороших девочек не бьют» (52 минуты, видео, студия «Летопись» Национальной киностудии «Беларусьфильм») 2019г.

География фестивальных побед фильмов Галины Адамович:

2001г. - “Жили-были” - Победы и призы на кинофестивалях в Румынии,  Словакии, Египте, Беларуси, России Москва.

2004г. - “Боже мой” - Победы и призы на кинофестивалях в Чехии, Беларуси, Италии, России (Челябинск), Польше.

2005г. - "Заведёнка" - Победы и призы на кинофестивалях в Иране, Польше (Краков),Молдове, Армении (Ереван), Италии, России.

2007г. - "Мама придёт!" - Победы и призы на кинофестивалях в Испании (Мадрид), 3 приза на фестивале «Золотой Витязь» (Москва).

           "Инокиня" (56 минут, видео, студия во имя Иоанна-воина Минского Свято-Елисаветинского монастыря). Победы и призы на кинофестивалях: «Листопад» (Минск), России. Киеве, Грузии, Украине.

2015г. - "Два Андрея" - Победы и призы на кинофестивалях в Россиии и Украине.

2017г. - "Чужое и своё - Победы и призы на кинофестивалях в городах России и в Азербайджане (Баку).

2019г. - "Вядо" - Победы и призы на кинофестивалях в Ханты-Мансийске, Самаре, Орле, Севастополе, Екатеринбурге.

 

Аляксандр Свішчанкоў
Александр Свищенков

Александр Свищенков - режиссер-документалист, продюсер, видеооператор, монтажер. Родился и живет в Минске. Окончил Белорусский государственный университет информатики и радиоэлектроники (специальность: телекоммуникации), киношколу-студию Андрея Полупанова (Специальность: кинопроизводство), Белорусскую государственную академию искусств (специальность: режиссура видеофильма). На фестивале представит свой фильм "Моя Германия".

 

Андрэй Куціла
Андрэй Куціла

Андрей Кутило родился в 1983 году. Режиссер, сценарист. Выпускник Белорусского государственного университета и Белорусской академии искусств (мастерская Александра Карпова). Участник киношколы Союза кинематографистов стран СНГ и Балтии (мастерская Сергея Дворцевого), IDFA Academy, Berlinale Talants и других образовательных проектов. Автор и режиссёр десятка документальных фильмов, участник и призер международных кинофестивалей.

 

Ігар Чышчэня
Игор Чищеня

Игорь Чищеня - молодой режиссер-документалист. Восемь лет работает на "Беларусьфильме" и за это время стал автором ряда сильных картин. А в 2017-м даже был назван «Человеком года в сфере культуры» как представитель киновидеоискусства.

Фильмография:

2019г. - "Места памяти. Ивье"

2017г. - "Generation play"

2017г. - "Первая книга" ( Першадрук)

2015г. - "Счетчик счастья"

2014г. - "Дыхание болот"

2014г. - "Страчаная песня"  

2013г. - "Андрей Такинданг. Остановлюсь на середине"

2012г. - "На манеже сегодня и всегда"

 

jan_bluz
Ян Блюз

Ян Блюз - польский режиссер и журналист, в настоящее время проживающий в Исландии. «Подполье надежды» - его первый полнометражный документальный фильм. До этого он работал в крупных польских СМИ в качестве журналиста и в основном освещал политику и экономику. Окончил Вроцлавский университет (факультет американистики).

Наш Facebook